Indonesian food, Snack
Comments 4

Pisang Molen (Just Another Banana Fritters)

pisang-molen

As a tropical country, Indonesia (just like other tropical countries) has a lot of different snacks made from banana. But mostly either for snack or dessert. And today I’m going to share of one my favourite (from many) banana snacks.

I’m not really sure how to translate this snack in English though. That’s why I just write “just another banana fritters” because it is banana fritter just different style. The dough is very crispy even when it’s cold already. As long as you don’t keep them in the fridge. Because then it will be soggy.

Actually one of my goal for this blog is to share with all of you some of my favourite banana snacks. But Indonesian these days are very creative, they keep making something new I can’t keep up. Everytime I’m in Indonesia for holiday there are always something new to try. Very creative people, I envy them.

For this recipe I took it from this blog here. And some of other banana recipes I’ve made before: turnover-ish,ย easy banana dessert, banoffee, cakeย and a few more. You can always use the search box in this blog to find more banana recipes. You can see how much I love banana ๐Ÿ˜€

Before we get to the recipe, there’s one more thing I want to talk about. It’s the photos (again), maybe some of you noticed that my photos has been a bit empty (without many props), that’s because I really want to show off the food rather than pretty props that can sometimes distract the actual object. I want a clean and bright food photos for my blog. And now that I take and edit the photos my self, the quality is a bit inconsistent, I’m still trying to figure out my style. So excuse me for that ๐Ÿ˜€

pisang-molen1

Pisang Molen

  • Servings: 24
  • Difficulty: easy

Ingredients

  • 75 gr unsalted butter
  • 1 egg
  • 75 gr icing sugar
  • 300 gr all purpose flour
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 50 ml cold water
  • 2 big ripe plantain (each divided to 12 small pieces)
  • Oil for deep drying

Directions

  1. Using a hand mixer, mix butter, icing sugar and egg together for around 30 seconds.
  2. Add flour, corn starch and salt. Mix well.
  3. Add cold butter and mix again until it becomes a nice dough.
  4. Let the dough rest for at least 10 minutes.
  5. Take 1/3 of the dough and roll it thin using either rolling pin or a pasta maker. Cut the dough into long strips (I didn’t measure mine, but I think it should be around 3cm width and 15cm long, depending on the size of the banana).
  6. Wrap the dough strips to each banana using a tiny bit water to glue the dough together.
  7. Repeat the process for the rest of the banana pieces.
  8. Heat oil for deep frying to 170ยฐC. Cook banana until the dough turns golden brown (around 3 minutes or so). Take them out and get rid of the excess oil with kitchen paper. Serve warm (is the best).

pisang-molen2

Until next time ^^

sign

4 Comments

  1. Jake Norfolk says

    As-Salaamu Alaikum wa Rahmatullahi wa Barakaatuh, Sister Ridha!

    We love receiving your updates and admire what you’re achieving here.

    I have a question, for Pisang Molen, can we use regular banana instead of plantain. we don’t get plantains here. (I live in Madinah).

    Thank you and best regards.
    Jake, (Abdulaziz)
    jakenorfolk1066@yahoo.co.uk

    • Wa’alaikumsalam warahmatullahi wabarakatu…
      Yes, you can use regular banana, but maybe pick the one that isn’t so ripe yet? so you won’t get a mushy Molen ๐Ÿ™‚

A nice comment will make my day ^^