One Meal
Leave a Comment

Green Egg Noodle

Morning morning ^^

We had snow yesterday, but it didn’t last very long since the temperature isn’t cold enough yet. Very wet. It was like autumn the day before yesterday and in a night turned into winter. Kind of crazy.

green-noodle_02_201611031

Lately I’ve been obsessed with homemade noodle, especially when I’m making mie ayam, I still haven’t found the prefect store-bought noodle for it yet. And for me personally mie ayam is all about the noodle (the chicken too of course) but if it has a good noodle even with just a simple chicken with soy sauce will do.

It was a lot of work before, when I didn’t have the pasta maker yet. I had to roll the dough with rolling pin (wasn’t an easy job to get the dough as thin as I want) but since I bought the pasta maker, making noodle is so easy and quick (just a bit messy, still :P). You can see my hand cut noodle here and purple noodle here.

green-noodle_04_201611031

I use the recipe from this Indonesian blog, the blog has hundreds of Indonesian traditional recipes, you should check it out (use google translate πŸ˜‰ ) but I modified the recipe a little bit. Because in Indonesia is so humid and here in Sweden is dry (especially now in winter time) and it can affect the dough as well.

Green Egg Noodle

  • Servings: 4
  • Difficulty: medium

Ingredients

  • 250 gr flour
  • 50 gr tapioca starch
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 50 ml spinach juice (from 50g spinach and 50ml water)
  • 50:50 of flour and starch mixture for dusting

Directions

  1. Combine flour, starch, eggs and salt in a bowl. Mix everything together.
  2. Add spinach juice little by little while kneading the dough.
  3. Knead until the dough is nice and smooth. Cover it with plastic wrap and let it rest for 30 minutes.
  4. Prepare your working surface, sprinkle some flour-starch mixture.
  5. Divide the dough into 3, and start working with the thickest to the thickness you desired. Don’t forget to dust the dough before rolling it in the pasta maker.
  6. Once you’ve flatten all the dough, time to roll them into the spaghetti maker. And sprinkle some more 50:50 mixture so they don’t stick to each other again.
  7. Store in the fridge for 2 days or up to a month in the freezer.

ps: I boiled the noodle first then store it in my freezer, it will be quicker when I want to use them next time.

green-noodle_03_201611031

 

Until next time ^^

sign

 

A nice comment will make my day ^^

