Snack
Comment 1

Havrebollar (Chokladbollar)

havrebollar2

Havrebollar or Chokladbollar is one of Swedish classic sweets. I usually prefer the name Havrebollar since it means oat balls, not exactly chocolate balls. Β And these balls main ingredient is rolled oat. This sweet also one the most requested food from my husband and he doesn’t request for a specific food or sweet that often. I could probably count how many times he asked me to make something for him ever since we were married over 7 years ago.

It is now one of my to go sweet for husband since it doesn’t require oven or big machine. Very quick to make too. But I always at least double the recipe, sometimes triple it. They’re gone pretty quick if I just make 1 recipe πŸ˜€

I’m using pearl sugar to cover the balls here, but it might be difficult to find if you don’t live in Scandinavian countries. You can use coconut flakes instead (store bought havrebollar usually use coconut flakes too).

I supposed you could add some chopped nuts in it too if you want to add some texture. But my husband likes it classic. He doesn’t really like textures in his sweets πŸ˜›

I already attach the recipe in the photo, so I’ll just write down the method here.

havrebollar

How to:

  1. Beat butter, sugar and vanilla until pale and fluffy.
  2. Add cocoa powder and cold coffee. Mix well.
  3. Lastly, add rolled oats. And form into small balls.
  4. Roll in pearl sugar or coconut flakes.
  5. Store in the refrigerator until set / hard.
  6. Enjoy.

 

Until next time ^^

sign

1 Comment

A nice comment will make my day ^^

