One Meal
Comments 7

Kycklingpaj (Chicken Pie)

Learn Swedish ^^

Kyckling = chicken

Paj = pie

But why Kycklingpaj is only one word? The answer only my Swedish husband can answer that. And you can ask him here in his blog :p Well, actually I have no right to teach Swedish here. Since I need to teach my self a lot more first, but I share some words I know with you anyway 😀

It was a very grey and stormy Sunday, last weekend. I mean really almost storm. Here in Gothenburg, we got class 2 alert from the Government. And we haven’t done our weekly shopping. So I tried to gather everything I have left in my fridge and cupboard, and voila! enough ingredients to make chicken pie. But personally I think this is more like a quiche, don’t you think?

This is actually a simple all-in-one menu. But I made it a bit more complicated here, in case you couldn’t find very nice roasted whole chicken, so I’ll share with you my version.

note: I use dl (deciliters) here, because I got the recipe from my mother-in-law. And I’m too lazy to convert everything. Sorry about that. But 1 dl is 100 ml. So should be easy 🙂

Pastry:

4 dl AP flour

150 grams butter

4 tsp cold water

How to:

– Preheat oven to 180 deg C.

– Mix all ingredients by hand or by food processor if you feel lazy.

– Cover the pie form with it.

– Make holes with fork in lots of places and rest 15 mins before you use it.

Filling:

100 grams sliced button mushroom

15 cm white part of the leek

100 grams canned corn

1 chopped medium onion

2 chicken breasts (diced)

1/2 tsp ground garlic, coriander, turmeric, cayenne pepper, chilli, black pepper, ginger, caraway and salt.

How to:

– In a hot pan, add 2 tbsp oil.

– Put in diced chicken breasts and the spices. Saute until half cooked.

– Add onion, leek and mushroom.

– Lastly add corn and turn off the heat. Let it cool down.

Cream mix:

4 dl fresh cream

50 ml milk

4 eggs

150 grams grated cheese (any hard cheese except parmesan)

salt and pepper

How to:

– Mix all ingredients. Set aside.

Assemble:

– Half cooked the pie pastry until its golden brown colour.

– Mix the filling with cream mixture.

– Pour the filling into the pie form and bake for at least 25 minutes.

– When its cooked, turn off the oven and open the oven door and let it rest for 5 minutes.

– Serve with your favourite salad!

7 Comments

  1. Pingback: Laxpaj (Salmon Pie) | Ridha's Kitchen

  2. Pingback: Beef Pie | Ridha's Kitchen

A nice comment will make my day ^^