Dessert, Snack
Comments 4

Coconut Steamed Cake

Learn Indonesian ^^

Coconut = kelapa

Steam / Steamed = kukus / dikukus

Cake = kue

 

Original name of this cake is Putu Ayu (I don’t understand what it means :p)

So, since my photographerΒ husband wasn’t home yet when I made this cake. I couldn’t take picture of the ingredients. Sorry 😦

This is because I’m the kind of person who doesn’t want to learn something I don’t like or at least no interest in it. Β Yeah, that’s me. Luckily my husband is the same so I don’t have to feel so guilty about it :p

Back to the recipe! I got this recipe from my aunty. She has small kiosk selling sweet and savoury Β snacks. They are all sooo good. Β So hopefully she won’t be angry with me when she found out I share this with you guys πŸ˜‰

What you need are (for 24 cupcakes):

3 eggs

3oo grams sugar (I used only 260 grams)

300 grams flour

2 dl coconut milk

1 tsp pandan paste

1 tsp green colouring

Desiccated coconut

 

How to:

-Heat the coconut milk, when it’s boiling take off from the stove right away and set aside (to cool down before you use it)

-Preheat your steamer with medium heat.

-Whisk eggs and sugar until pale and fluffy.

-Add flour little by little.

-Add pandan paste and green food colouring.

-Lastly add in the coconut milk.

-Mix everything well but don’t over mix it.

-In the separate cupcake moulds, put some coconut at the bottom of the moulds (just enough to cover the bottom, not too much).

-Pour the mix up to 3/4 full.

-Place them in the steamers.

-Steam for around 8 to 10 minutes.

d

I know it looks very complicated. But its not. As easy as if you make baked cupcakes. Very quick too and taste very nice. So I hope you want to try it too πŸ™‚

Enjoy πŸ™‚

4 Comments

  1. I googled it, It turns out that Putu is originally from India. When the method of preparing changed and resulted into something more ‘sweet’/’pretty’ looking it changed to Putu Ayu –> what you made..Putu ayu-kue yang cantik

A nice comment will make my day ^^

